The Accounting Education Study Programme was officially established on March 14th, 1983, under the Minister of Education and Culture Decree No. 0174/O/1983 which combined the Department of Corporate Economics, General Economics, and Management into the Department of Business Education (PDU).

The PDU Department has seven study Programmes, namely the Corporate Economics Study Programme, General Economics Study Programme, Management Study Programme, Bookkeeping/Accounting Study Programme, Business Administration Study Programme, Office Administration Study Programme, and Service Skills Study Programme. In its development, the term “bookkeeping” was no longer used, so that the name of the study Programme became the Accounting Study Programme.

In 1995 there was a change in the name of the department and study Programme, namely the Department of Business Education to the Department of Economic Education, the Accounting Study Programme to the Accounting Education Study Programme, the Business Administration Study Programme to the Business Administration Education Study Programme, the Office Administration Study Programme to the Office Administration Education Study Programme.

In line with the wider mandate policy given by the government to the Indonesia University of Education, in 2000 the Department of Economic Education opened two non-educational study Programmes, namely the Accounting Study Programme and the Management Study Programme.

Since October 28, 2008, based on UPI Rector’s Decree Number 6067 of 2008 the Department of Economic Education was developed into a separate faculty, under the name of the Faculty of Economics and Business Education (FPEB), which consists of 7 (seven) study Programmes, including the Accounting Education Study Programme. Currently, the Accounting Education Study Programme has an A accreditation rating from BAN-PT based on SK Number: 2959/SK/BANPT/Akred/S/XII/2016.